Jennifer Zimmer: self-portraits

October 9, 2008

Jennifer Zimmer's self-portrait.

A self-portrait, part of Jennifer Zimmer's portrait series.

Throughout grade school I don’t think I had a single usable portrait taken of me. Year after year I would come home with a selection of photos that went from bad to worse. It was all thanks to what my mom called my fake smile—a goofy expression that only occurred when I was placed in front of a camera. If only Halifax photographer Jennifer Zimmer was my class photographer.

Zimmer’s latest series of 18 hand-made photographs play with the ideas of portraiture. She had her subjects lay down in the fetal position and use a shutter release cable to take a photo when they felt most comfortable.

“It’s kind of a sense of individuality, isolation and a bit of vulnerability in each one,” says Zimmer. “The point I wanted to make was in a limited environment, even though constraints are put on us, our individual bodies still seek expression.”

Pages: 1 2

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

