I Have Never Felt Sexually Attracted to Anyone At All

October 16, 2008

By Mike Landry
An image from Daniel Barrow's "Every Time I See You Picture I Cry."

An image from Daniel Barrow's "Every Time I See You Picture I Cry."

Winnipegger Daniel Barrow‘s stories begin, simply enough, with a visual image. But, when that first idea is so odd it’s not long before he ends up with a film featuring a garbage man creating a phone book with personalized portraits and who is being stalked by a serial killer.

Such was the plot in his now finished and much acclaimed work, Every Time I See Your Picture I Cry. His latest work in progress is no different. I Have Never Felt Sexually Attracted to Anyone At All started with the image of someone reverse waxing themselves.

“I just had the image of a very slim nubile hairless body lathered with Vaseline grabbing a cat blanket from the backseat of a car and then burnishing their body and peeling it back to reveal hair,” says Barrow. “And I just developed this idea that this could be a way someone could commit suicide if they were allergic to cats.”

Pages: 1 2

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

