Beatrice’s Centre for Student Affairs

September 25, 2008

By Mike Landry

A video still from Daniel Barrow's "Artist Statement."

A video still from Daniel Barrow's "Artist Statement."

Jennifer Cherniack almost didn’t want to be quoted as saying so, but one day she wants to move back to Winnipeg.

“My most complicated relationship in life is with Winnipeg. There’s something about the city that I can’t get away from,” says Cherniack, assistant curator/public programmes manager with Toronto’s InterAccess Electronoic Media Arts Centre. “People ask me where I’m from I tell them I’m originally from Winnipeg but I live in Toronto. It’s always like I’m a visitor somewhere else.”

Cherniack’s interest for her hometown inspired her to curate Beatrice’s Centre for Student Affairs, or, How I learned that my mother was right about making art in a prairie town during the rise and fall of grunge music. Using works from Winnipeg-born artists Daniel Barrow, Jo-Anne Balcaen and Evan Tapper, Cherniack presents an exhibition about art school, coming of age stories, gossip and forced reunions.

Pages: 1 2

Leave a Reply

